Cobourg receives Bicycle Friendly Communities Award

The Town of Cobourg recently received provincial recognition at the 10th Annual Ontario Bike Summit Awards with a Bronze Award as a new Bicycle Friendly Community (BFC). 

The Town of Cobourg achieved Bronze after having been engaged in the BFC Program for years and receiving Honourable Mentions in 2015. The Town of Cobourg took the feedback prepared by an expert panel of judges and put that feedback into action by creating new programs and projects to make cycling more accessible.

Bruce Bellaire, Paul Mills and Rick Nonnekes – all members of Cycle Transitions – worked closely with the Town on the applications and efforts to achieve the status. This was part of a larger effort by Sustainable Cobourg’s Bicycle Action Committee to advocate for more safe cycling infrastructure in the town.  It is the hope that the report accompanying the award can be used as a template for more improvements to the infrastructure.

In the picture above, Bruce, Councilor Forrest Rowden and Deputy Director of Public Works, Laurie Wills showed off the award to Cobourg Council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *